Labor Law Attorney in Denver, CO
Colorado Labor Laws at a Glance
The labor laws in Colorado cover many areas such as wages and hours, employment verification, work permits and youth employment. Your employment attorney can explain each area of Colorado’s labor laws that pertains to your circumstances, including wage and hour law.
- Wages: As of Jan. 1, 2011, the state minimum wage is $7.36 per hour. Employees covered by federal and state minimum wage laws must be paid the higher minimum wage (the current federal minimum wage is $7.25). Employers must pay a tipped minimum wage of $4.34 per hour. If an employee is covered by state and federal minimum wage laws, the higher tip minimum must be paid. If an employee’s tips plus the employer’s cash wage come out to less than the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make use cash wages to make up the difference. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income can be used to offset tipped minimum wage.
- Hours: Employers are not required to pay an employee merely for showing up to work. Employers are required to pay for actual work performed or services rendered during the time the employee is present. For example, an employee reports to work and his or her employer sends him or her home without the employee doing any work. The employer is not required to pay the employee for showing up. Some employees may qualify for overtime, which is time and one-half their regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week, 12 hours per day or 12 consecutive hours regardless of the start and end time of the workday, whichever renders a larger payment of wages.
- Employment verification: Public and private employers must retain copies of each employee’s identification and employment authorization documents for employment eligibility purposes.
- Work permits: Work permits are not required, except in the case of minor employees, who are required to submit age certificates.
- Youth employment: Employers must adhere to the guidelines under the Colorado Youth Employment Opportunity Act of 1971 (CYEOA) pertaining to age restrictions and allowed occupations. No child under age 16 can work on a school day unless he or she has a school release permit. In addition, no child under 16 can work more than six hours after school unless the next day is not a school day.
Let a Seasoned Colorado Employment Lawyer Help You
Finding a qualified employment law attorney in Denver County is easy; finding one who is good fit for you requires due diligence on your part. The ideal attorney is one who is knowledgeable about all areas of Colorado’s labor laws and has a proven track record for success in reaching positive outcomes with each case he or she has handled.